CALEA Accreditation

New-Calea-Emblem.jpg The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA®), was created in 1979 as a credentialing authority through the joint efforts of law enforcement’s major executive associations. The CALEA Accreditation program seals are reserved for use by those public safety agencies that have demonstrated compliance with CALEA Standards and have been awarded CALEA Accreditation by the Commission. Considered to be the gold standard in public safety, the Kansas City, Kansas Police Department has received their accreditation for the past eight consecutive years.

Accreditation embodies the precepts of community-oriented policing. It creates a forum in which law enforcement agencies and citizens work together to prevent and control challenges confronting law enforcement and provides clear direction about community expectations. There are five phases in the accreditation process:

  1. Enrollment
  2. Self-assessment
  3. Assessment
  4. Commission Review and Decision
  5. Maintaining Compliance and Reaccreditation

The public is encouraged to engage in the accreditation process by submitting comments directly to CALEA through its public portal. The purpose of this public portal is to receive comments regarding an agency's compliance with CALEA standards, engagement in the service community, delivery of public safety services, and overall candidacy for accredited status. These comments can bein the form of commendations or concerns. The overall intent of the accreditation process is to provide the participating agency with information to support continuous improvement, as well as foster the pursuit of professional excellence.

You may access the portal directly from this site through the link below..

CALEA Public Comment Portal