Kansas City, Kansas, sitting on the eastern edge of Kansas and bordering Missouri, is the third largest city in the state. It is separated from the larger Kansas City - Kansas City, Missouri by the confluence of the Kansas and Missouri Rivers and State Line Road. It is part of a consolidated city-county government known as the Unified Government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas.

The Kansas City, Kansas Police Department works to ensure the safety the 153,000 residents of the community which spans approximately 125 square miles. The men and women of the KCKPD continually strive to distinguish the department as a model law enforcement agency through service, honor, integrity and professionalism.

The Department employs a staff of approximately 420 with a sworn staff of 340 officers which operate three patrol divisions and a variety of specialized units. Its Communications Unit operates the Wyandotte County's emergency dispatch (911) center which averages 900 calls per service a day or 355,000 a year.